ETSC

The European Transport Safety Council

Promoting science-based road safety policies





Antonio Avenoso, Executive Director

What is ETSC?

The European Transport Safety Council (ETSC) is a Brussels-based non-governmental organisation created in 1993 to promote an independent and science-based approach to road safety.

It is organised around:

- A Secretariat
- A Board of Directors
- A Main Council (or General Assembly)
- A Pool of experts
- A Sponsorship consortium



The Secretariat

8 Secretariat staff members do their utmost to insert the knowledge of ETSC members and experts into EU transport safety policy-making

- Based in Brussels
- Different nationalities (French, Italian, British, German, Swiss, Romanian)
- Multilingual: seven different languages



The Board of Directors

Ensures ETSC's independent and science-based approach

- Chaired by Prof. Herman De Croo, Minister of State, Former Belgian Minister of Transport and Speaker of the Belgian Chamber of Representatives
- The three founding members are part of the Board of Directors
- 4 Members of the European Parliament guarantee the transparency of ETSC's operations



The Main Council

The Main Council groups ETSC's members and approves ETSC's policies and programmes

- 3 founding members in 1993
- 45 members from the European Union and beyond (Israel, Norway, Serbia and Switzerland) in 2012
- National road safety organisations, research institutes, universities, national road safety authorities, victims' associations and insurance companies are members of the Main Council



The Pool of Experts

ETSC brings together more than 200 internationally renowned experts from across EU Member States.

With the support of the Secretariat, this "pool" of independent experts has produced over 30 Reports.

Other actions include requests for advice from the Secretariat from time to time.



The Sponsorship Consortium

ETSC receives funding from a variety of sources. This is in itself a guarantee of independence

- Membership subscriptions
- The European Commission (DG MOVE, DG RESEARCH, DG INFSO)
- Member States: The Swedish Transport Administration and the Norwegian Public Roads Administration
- Private Companies: Olympus KeyMed, Volvo Group, Fundación Mapfre, 3M, Diageo, Shell



ETSC Activities



Monitoring EU transport safety policy



Road Safety Performance Index (PIN) - Ranking EU countries' performances



Roads to Respect Infrastructure Safety



Road Safety 'At'
Work and 'To' Work



STudents Acting to Reduce Speed



Safe&Sober Campaign and Drink-driving policy network



ETSC PIN Programme

- Launched in June 2006 to compare country performance in road safety
- Currently includes the 27 EU Member States, as well as Israel, Norway and Switzerland
- A PIN Panel: well-placed experts from each of the 30 countries

Anna Vadeby (FI), Rune Elvik (NO), Jacqueline Lacroix (DE), Klaus Machata (AT), Pilar Zori (ES), Peter Mak (NL), Michael Rowland (IE), Jesper Sølund (DK), Jen Chapelon (FR), Ilona Buttler (PL),

A PIN Steering Group















Stay in touch!

For more info, please subscribe to our newsletters:











antonio.avenoso@etsc.eu

