Best in Europe

ETSC's Conference on Best Practice in Transport Safety

27

In spring 2003 the European Commission published its 3rd Road Safety Action Programme. It identifies more than 60 individual measures – that is more than 60 stepping stones in reaching the EU target of halving road deaths by 2010.

A good year after the adoption of this far-reaching European road safety strategy and only a few months after the accession of 10 new member states, ETSC's annual conference takes a closer look at the implementation of some key road safety measures at member state level.

The conference features examples of "good practice" from both the leading EU countries in terms of road safety as well as the less well performing. Particular emphasis is given to countries of what we have termed the SEC Belt (Southern, Eastern and Central European Countries), since these countries reveal the greatest potential in improving their road safety policies.

By attending, help us increase understanding about what works and why, and forge new links between professionals across Europe.



Professor Herman De Croo MP

Speaker, Belgian Chamber of Representatives



17.15

The EU road safety agenda: What member states suggest

09.00 - 09.15	Registration and coffee
09.15 - 09.30	Welcome Professor Herman De Croo, ETSC
09.30 - 09.45	The SEC Belt: Priority-based road safety work. Jörg Beckmann, ETSC
09.45 - 10.15	The European Commission: Are we working towards the target? Dimitrios Theologitis, DG TREN
10.15 - 11.00	France: The progress made since 2002 Jacques Léglu, La Prevention Routière
11.00 - 11.15	Break
11.15 - 12.00	The Czech Republic: Road safety and mass media involvement Jaroslav Heinrich, CDV
12.00 - 12.45	Poland: Urban safety management in Warsaw Ilona Buttler, ITS
12.45 - 13.45	Lunch
	Chair: Professor Murray Mackay
13.45 - 14.30	Germany: Implementing road safety audits Reinhold Baier, BSV
14.30 - 15.15	Malta: Improving seat belt use Maria Attard, Malta Transport Authority
15.15 - 15.30	Break
15.30 - 16.15	Denmark: Coping with higher speeds René La Cour Sell, Danish Road Safety Council
16.15 - 17.15	Panel Discussion: Who is to share and who is to take responsibility? Panel with Professor Richard Allsop (University College London), Peter Vansevenant (City of Gent), Lars-Göran Löwenadler (Volvo Group), Jesus Monclus (FITSA), Jean-Paul Repussard (European Commission), Klaus Langwieder (CEA).
17 15	Reception



Members

Austrian Road Safety Board (KfV) Automobile and Travelclub Germany (ARCD) Belgian Road Safety Institute (IBSR/BIVV) Birmingham Accident Research Centre, University of Birmingham Centro Studi Città Amica (CeSCAm), University of Brescia Chalmers University of Technology Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) Commission Internationale des Examens de Conduite Automobile (CIECA) Czech Transport Research Centre (CDV) Danish Road Directorate (VD) Danish Transport Research Institute (DTF) Dutch Transport Safety Board (RvTV) European Federation of Road Accident Victims (FEVR) Fédération Internationale Motocycliste (FIM) Finnish Vehicle Administration Centre (AKE) Folksam Research Fundación Instituto Tecnológico para la Seguridad del Automóvil (FITSA) German Transport Safety Council (DVR) Motor Transport Institute (ITS) Nordic Traffic Safety Committee Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS) Swedish National Society for Road Safety (NTF) Swiss Council for Accident Prevention (bfu) Traffic Safety Committee, Federation of Finnish Insurance Companies (VALT) University of Lund Vehicle Safety Research Centre, University of Loughborough

Board of Directors

Professor Herman De Croo Professor Manfred Bandmann Professor G. Murray Mackay Pieter van Vollenhoven

Executive Director

Jörg Beckmann

Best in Europe 2004 October 27

at: Scotland House 8th Floor Rond Point Schuman 6 1040 Brussels

http://www.scotlandeuropa.com/confmap.htm

For registration:

Mich Bullaert

ETSC rue du Cornet – Hoornstraat 34 B-1040 Brussels Tel. + 32 2 230 4106 Fax. +32 2 230 4215 E-mail: administration@etsc.be Internet: www.etsc.be

Conference Fee: €100,-

PLease e-mail or fax the following information

Name:
Organisation:
Address:
Telephone/Fax:
E-mail:

DG TREN European Commission - KeyMed - Volvo Group BP - Shell International - Ford - Tovota